Is Fashion A Degree

I like to think of myself as a patient person, one who can tolerate certain aspects of life. However in some situations it can be rather advantageous to have zero tolerance. I happen to have zero tolerance for ignorance. As you know semester 2 has officially begun. Due to a series of unfortunate events and poorly timed decisions I have found myself in a small business planning unit. Fortunately I find this interesting and I know that this unit will be useful in the next couple of years. Maybe. The first week was missed as a result of administration faults so I began this class in week two. The first individual I was introduced to gave me a lot to think about. He asked me what my name was and what I was studying. As you all know fashion is my only major. When I told him I was studying fashion he opened his mouth and this is what happened. 

“Fashion as in fashion business, marketing?” Nope, just straight fashion. 

“Is that a degree?”

Once again, there are many things in life I can tolerate but this!? Is fashion a degree! In the following group exercise, my contributions were rendered irrelevant due to that fact that my degree wasn’t focused on this side of Uni, the business side. 

This isn’t the first time, many people seem to think that fashion is an easy ride, that it doesn’t require you to think practically and critically, which it does. I want to be the best at what I do so that I can show people that fashion isn’t for airheads. Not only is fashion a talent, the industry is a force to be reckoned with!


Mossman Jumpsuit 

http://beginningboutique.com.au/garden-party-jumpsuit-white

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So true! I hate that fashion is considered “fluff” by the general public. As Anna Wintour said, people make fun of what they don’t understand/can’t be a part of 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. themainstreetandstyle says:

      Couldn’t have said it better myself!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

