How It All Began 

I grew up not knowing what my natural hair looked like. I grew up on the creamy crack (chemical straightener aka creamy crack) and the occasional perm. I didn’t love my hair, simply because I didn’t know my hair, but now I do and so will you! My natural hair journey began at the beginning of this year, my best friend did the big chop, yep, she shaved it all off! My sister did the semi big chop, no shaving but she cut all of her relaxed hair off. We all had the one friend that had been natural for the longest time and we had only just seen the light! Personally I wasn’t into the big chop idea, so I decided to transition, this means I just stopped relaxing (it had already been a year). I started taking care of my hair and keeping it moisturised under my protective styles. One day I decided to trim my hair a little, not all of the relaxed hair, just a bit! The next day I cut it again, once I started I just couldn’t stop! I cut it again, three times in total and got rid of all of my relaxed hair. I had been doing weaves for two years straight prior to that so my edges had suffered miserably. No more weaves for me! 

A couple of months of protective styles later and I came to October, after a month of Sugar Bear Hair Vitamins which are amazing by the way! I was getting ready for uni one day and thought, stuff it! Let me just go natural today, I don’t know anyone. I felt so free and so me that I decided I’m just going to go natural in general! (My plan was a debut in December) The alliteration was just too good to ignore! So instead of my December debut I had an October- I have nothing. 

Time for an update! I am LOC-ing my hair every day, trying to drink plenty of water and my edges are making a fast recover with my special mix of oils that leave my hair feeling fantastic! I’ve also had a recent shipment of natural hair goodies straight from the mother land! A haul can be expected soon! Love the hair you’re in and live a life you love! 

#AFRODITE

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Patience says:

    Loved your debut. ..and natural looks good on you!!or is it you make natural look so good?whichever way..love it!!
    Some tips on the oils?😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. themainstreetandstyle says:

      Thank You! I’ve just been using a mix of natural oils ☺️

      Like

  2. Your so beautiful. I’m transitioning too and hiding my hair under wigs. Where did you get the sugar bear vitamins from? Would love to try them out 💛

    Laura| http://www.lauralivinglife.com

    Liked by 2 people

    1. themainstreetandstyle says:

      Thank you! There’s a sugar bear hear website, or you can find them on eBay ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Skatsz says:

    Awwww you look so cute! I’m so glad you decided to just let your natural hair flourish bc it looks great!
    Thanks for sharing! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

