Now I Know

Whenever I was asked what I wanted to do with my life, I replied fashion. Then they’d want the specifics and it would always change, from designer to journalist to brand ambassador to owning my own label. I would always say I wanted to do something in the fashion industry but I was never quite certain on what that was! Today I realised that  it had been right in front of me all along! For years there have been moments, specifically in relation to the fashion industry where I have been deliriously happy and immensely over joyed. Today was one of those moments. I had been called into an interview at a formal wear boutique. I walked past the first time and all I could say was, “Oh my goodness, oh my gosh, what the heck, what the actual heck, oh my gosh, what is this!” Just the outside had me flustered. The third time I walked past was the moment I walked in. Greeted by seven gorgeous gowns my heart fluttered. When I couldn’t see anyone I walked up the stairs and my heart exploded! Something to note about me is that whenever I am excited or happy my eyes start welling up a little. If I was left alone in that room any longer I would’ve been bawling my eyes out. 

It was magnificent, beautiful! Dresses of all shapes and sizes, colours and fabrics! It was luxurious decadent and beautiful. Breathtaking! Throughout my interview all I could think was wow! I was just in awe! During my interview I realised I had never been this excited when talking about fashion. I wasn’t nervous or worried about my responses. I felt at home where I was. Walking out of that place was hard but I just couldn’t stop smiling! Thinking of it now, even if I don’t get the job, this is a moment in my life I will never forget. Sure, it’s seemingly insignificant but to me it felt as though the fog had cleared or the last brick was put into place. I knew. I know. 

Every gown has a story. My dream is to create gowns with stories, gowns that have unique lives! Every dress has seen, heard and been through different experiences. If dresses could talk they would tell the story of the woman wearing the dress. The night, the emotions, the memories made. I dream of making unforgettable gowns for unforgettable moments.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mikayla says:

    Wonderful post! Nothing like that moment when you find something that lights you up, your passion. And you look so lovely in this pics, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. themainstreetandstyle says:

      Thank you! ☺️💗

      Like

Leave a Reply

